InDashPC.org Forum Index InDashPC.org
In Dash Car PC forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Car2PC without USB connected

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Car integration
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stagis
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:22 am    Post subject: Car2PC without USB connected Reply with quote

Hi Everybody,

Today I installed the Car2PC in my Seat Altea. And finally I got it to work, but .. it seems it needs to be connected via USB (it worked being connected to my laptop). I was kind of hoping to be able to use it also without USB being connected (more or less like the Car2AUX).

Is there something I can do to make it work without a USB connected?

Thanks in advance
-Stagis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no need for USB to be connected for the device to work.
You can use it as simple AUX if you wish so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stagis
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, then something is wrong.
If I only connect the Car2PC to my iPod with the audio jack, nothing happens. The radio does not even recognize that a CD changer is present. Then when I connect my laptop and it discovers the new USB device, I can play music on the PC and the CD changer functions of the radio spring to life. I can then pull the audio jack from my pc and put it into the iPod, and it plays from my iPod.
The second I disconnect the laptop from the USB, the music stops.
Is the Car2PC drawing power from the USB or what ?
Please advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you connect black wire from Car2PC harness to your stereo chassis ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stagis
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My radio has the double DIN interface (I got the VAGD cable), so there was no lose cable to connect to the stereo chassis like with the VAGS cable.
Should I use one of the cables in the DIN plug ?!? and pull it out of the connector ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you should.
It should be covered in Installation Document.
http://gromaudio.com/docs/GROM-VAG.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stagis
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, its just my radio has no way to attach a ground wire to it. No dedicated screw or whatever. Also GND is part of the DIN connector right?
Now its a bigger wiring project to wire this to Ground somewhere else.
Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just connect anywhere on a chassis.
There are many screws on your stereo where it can be attached to...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stagis
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked. Thanks a lot for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cem



Joined: 29 Jun 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have similar problem. I bought a Car2PC Honda / Acura car stereo to PC adapter (HON1P). My car is Honda Accord 2007 Euro.
I didn't install carpc yet. I just want to use Car2pc as simple AUX without computer for now. I installed but head unit does not even recognize that a CD changer is present. Should i connect black cable to chassis?

Fixed. I didn't anything and tried one more time today. Works now. LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smaver



Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe its something related to the Seat brand. I have a Seat Ibiza and ended up given up and returning the Car2PC back. I never managed to get my ipod working. Sad
_________________
En proceso de educar a un perro pero se resiste Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Car integration All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group