InDashPC.org Forum Index InDashPC.org
In Dash Car PC forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Grom (Palm <-> HU)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Misc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tomek985
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:05 pm    Post subject: Grom (Palm <-> HU) Reply with quote

I guess I'm one of the first people to get my hands on that unit.
I have 02 Audi with Symphony II and Palm T|X
I followed somehow generic instruction, but with eventually managed to "install" Aux adapter.
However, as always, there are problems. I wasn't able to find ground wire, so I just connected black wire to first available screw on the HU.
So now I can press CD and that will send me CDC, but it doesn't work. I plug in palm pilot with TCPMP running and nothing happens, music just plays on the palm, and I get CDC 1, track 1 0:00, then somehow I may be able to get time to move, but still no playback.
I even created playlists using grom1.m3u and used GROM build, and it doesn't work.
Any ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you mean "no playback" ?
Can you clarify ?
Does anything happen when you press <, > or disk buttons ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomek985
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By no playback I mean there is no sound comming from the HU.
Also pressing <<>> or CD+- doesnt do anything. If I get lucky, I may get it to move into Track 2. I checked the connectors and they seem pretty tight.
Also does it matter where I put ground wire?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you play sound through TX does it switch over to an external speaker ? I mean do you hear sound coming from TX internal speaker or not ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomek985
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I secured all cables in neat fashion, and put ground wire on the radio.
Now CDC appears, but I wasn't able to get any sound through it.
I launch TCPMP, plug it in the adapter and press play on palm, nothng happens. Time doesn't change and it just stays. HU is not responsive.
I change tracks on TCPMP and tracks change on HU, not other way around. I contacted guys at GROMaudio and they said that's probably software issue and they will realese new software by the end of the week.
Also, I tried pocket tunes, they playback, sound gets redirected from internal speaker, but where? I got nothing from the speakers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wait for the software realease this weekend.
Not sure why there is no sound from speakers though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The build is almost finished. Please wait for 1 more day. Sorry for delay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomek985
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbors wrote:
The build is almost finished. Please wait for 1 more day. Sorry for delay

The IC replacement for the core unit solved partially the problem.
I get sound by using pocket Tunes, but TCPMP doesn't work.
the time appears somehow but it still unstable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please give more details ?
What you mean unstable ? Does TCPMP play or chokes ? Are you able to switch between tracks ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomek985
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbors wrote:
Can you please give more details ?
What you mean unstable ? Does TCPMP play or chokes ? Are you able to switch between tracks ?

First, no sound is transfered to HU, only internal speaker is playing.
When playing, correct track number is displayed, but time has a weird refresh rate, ie it will jump from 0:07 0:08 0:10 0:11 and so on, often skipping one second. Later I will test if HU controls TX, but first I need to recreate playlist files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to create playlists select files you want into TCPMP and then save it via Save menu under desired number.
Please send email to support at gromaudio _ com describing your problem they will send you the instructions how to fix the issue with the external speaker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Misc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group