InDashPC.org Forum Index InDashPC.org
In Dash Car PC forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Car2PC plugin for Windows Media Player released !
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Software -> Plugins
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 9:46 pm    Post subject: Car2PC plugin for Windows Media Player released ! Reply with quote

Hi there,
I'm happy to announce that Car2PC plugin for Windows Media Player has been released. It features the same functionality as WinAmp version. To be precise:
Code:
- Simple installation
- Direct mapping from the custom defined playlists to a buttons on car stereo
- Ability to restore the last played track and position within the playlist reducing navigation time
- All car stereo functions supported such as track/disk numbers, track time, random, repeat and more...

Download available here:
http://indashpc.org/downloads/software/1.5/wmphump_1_5_1.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:15 pm    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Great news, but how do you install it? I've tried adding the dll as a plugin in WMP 9 and 10 but it just says 'The plug-in could not be added'
Help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Existing installation assumes you have XP installed on the C:\windows.
Try to download this file:
http://indashpc.org/downloads/drivers/FTD2XX.dll
And place it to a system folder ( usually c:\windows\system32 ) and add it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:45 pm    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Hiya,

Thanks, the installer created winnt\system32 and put the dll in there, instead of windows\system32. Putting the dll in windows\system32 got rid of the error, and instead WMP does nothing at all! It doesn't show the plugin as loaded, and the HU emulator shows no changer.

What should WMP show when it's loaded correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:51 pm    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Oops! Blonde moment Rolling Eyes

It shows as wmpp plugin if you tick the box in options!

But the HU emulator still can't see it...


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry there is a small mess around. Try to change the install_emu.reg to this:
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Car2PC]
"EmuPort"="4000"

I will update the emulator shortly.
Here you go:
http://indashpc.org/downloads/software/huemu-1.3.1.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:54 am    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Yay! It works now Very Happy

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:33 pm    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Hmm, almost works...

Without the plugin switched on WMP runs fine, but switching it on makes everything really slow down, like the processor is at 100%, but it's no different to normal. The visualizations go from nice and smooth to a frame a second, and button clicks take a while to register, then after a while it just gives up and hangs.

The machine is a P4 2.5GHz with 1GB ram, so it's not short on power. Its running XP pro SP2 and WMP10.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

100% is not normal. It does not happen here.
As of jerking of visualization, it is true. There is a problem somewhere. Will get fixed asap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:36 am    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Sorry - I wasn't clear about the cpu usage. Confused

It's about 25% normally with visualizations on, but drops to 10% with the plugin turned on. WMP and the rest of XP responds sluggishly, like it's at 100% but it's not.

If it helps I changed the video adapter from the S3 onboard to an 8x AGP nVidia MX440, which made no difference at all!

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you try WinAmp. Will it work better ? Just to understand where is the issue is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Hiya,

Winamp doesn't seem to be affected, although the HU emulator says no changer again so I can't tell if the plugin loaded properly.

A bit more on WMP - it's not just the visualisations that are affected - it's the whole app. It's most obvious with the visualisations on, but even with them off the little spectrum analyser display in the bottom info pane runs slowly, as does the track position display. This happens in skin mode too.

I've ordered my car2pc adapter now, so as soon as you can get this fixed I can try it in the car. No pressure hehe! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I see what you're saying. It will get fixed. Hope by mid next week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbors
Site Admin


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 1675

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this one and let me know:
http://indashpc.org/downloads/software/wmphump_1_5_3.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v8babe
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Devon

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 5:20 am    Post subject: WMP Plugin Reply with quote

Very Happy Now it rocks!

There's no difference now in response or cpu usage with the plugin on or off. Nice work.
My adapter is here now too, so time to start the build in the car. I'll post pics of progress.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    InDashPC.org Forum Index -> Software -> Plugins All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group